Studios: 2023

Past Exhibition
11 November - 16 December 2023
A round-shaped octagonal artwork featuring a mandarine and a chrome frame that incorporates a star.
A round-shaped octagonal artwork featuring a mandarine and a chrome frame that incorporates a star.

Adelaide Contemporary Experimental ends the year with Studios: 2023, a group exhibition featuring new commissions by the 2023 ACE Studio Program artists, Teresa Busuttil, Georgia Button, Brad Darkson, Jennifer Mathews and Truc Truong.


Adelaide Contemporary Experimental

11 November to 16 December 2023


Studios: 2023 is a showcase of the diverse practices and work developed as part of ACE’s annual Studio Program – a fully-supported professional development opportunity for South Australian artists.

Co-curated by Rayleen Forester (Associate Curator, ACE) and Nanette Orly (Curator, Murray Art Museum Albury), the exhibition features the many disciplines of the 2023 Studio Program artists, including sound, video, installation, assemblage and sculpture.

Teresa Busuttil’s large-scale sculptural work investigates personal and familial history, the Maltese diaspora, and shared pools of memory; exploring affect, loss, personal histories and rural environments, Georgia Button embraces moving-image in an attempt to self-archive an elderly family member; informed by his First Nations and Anglo Australian heritage, Brad Darkson  utilises existing archival footage to investigate the historical promise of sovereignty in mainstream media; Jennifer Mathews employs architectural motifs and materials that focus on the tension between the industrial built environment and stylised depictions of nature to form new symbolic arrangements; and Truc Truong’s ambitious water-feature brings together assemblage and sculpture, drawing influence from post-colonialism, self-hatred, West vs East and the weight of family loyalty.

Download the plain language document.

Listen to the exhibition audio description.

Feature Image: Jennifer Mathews, 'Illumination in the worn aisle' (2022) stainless steel, aluminium, photographic print on adhesive vinyl, 90 x 120 x 3.8 cm. Photography by Izzie Austin. Courtesy the artist.


Rayleen Forester,
Nanette Orly


Teresa Busuttil,
Georgia Button,
Brad Darkson,
Jennifer Mathews,
Truc Truong

Supported by

The 2023 Studio Program is supported by partnerships with Creative Partnerships Australia Plus 1 Program, Helpmann Academy, Adelaide Central School of Art, and firstdraft. It is also supported by the generous contributions of the Studio Program Donors:

Anonymous x 2, Anton Andreacchio, Susan Armitage, Jane Ayers, Sally Ball, Candy Bennett, Angela Carey, James Darling AM, Sue Dillon, Lesley Forwood, Dr Alex Grant, Dr Robyn Grant, Amanda Harkness & Karen Barrett, Andrew Henderson, Kate Irving, Robyn & Geoff Kempe, Hon. Diana Laidlaw AM, James Lake, Thomas Lambert, Brigitte Lane, Stephen Lane, Edwina Lehmann, David McKee AO, Pam McKee, Jane Michell, Ministry of Clouds, Christopher Penny, John Phillips, Michael Pocock, Aidan Rigoni, Louise Rigoni, Venetia Rigoni, Jill Russell, Thelma Taliangis, Tracey Whiting AM

Brad Darkson has been assisted by the City of Adelaide. Jennifer Mathews has been supported by the Government of South Australia through the Department of the Premier and Cabinet. Truc Troung has been assisted by the Australian Government through Creative Australia, its principal arts investment and advisory body.

ACE tampinthi, ngadlu Kaurna yartangka panpapanpalyarninthi (inparrinthi). Kaurna miyurna yaitya mathanya Wama Tarntanyaku. Parnaku yailtya, parnaku tapa purruna, parnaku yarta ngadlu tampnthi. Yalaka Kaurna miyurna itu yailtya, tapa purruna, yarta kuma puru martinthi, puru warri-apinthi, puru tangka martulayinthi.

ACE respectfully acknowledges the traditional Country of the Kaurna people of the Adelaide Plains and pays respect to Elders past and present. We recognise and respect their cultural heritage, beliefs and relationship with the land. We acknowledge that they are of continuing importance to the Kaurna people living today.