2022 ACE Studio Program artist: Chelsea Farquhar

To watch the interview with captions please watch it on YouTube via this link.

About the artist

Chelsea Farquhar works across sculpture, performance and video, incorporating traditional skills associated with blacksmithing, lead lighting and costuming. Observation, examination, contemplation, play and testing are important elements of her process-driven practice. Farquhar completed undergraduate studies at Adelaide Central School of Art in 2017 and received First Class Honours in Fine Arts from the Victorian College of the Arts in 2020.

Recent exhibitions and projects include Fluttertongue, The Guildhouse Collections Project: Adelaide Symphony Orchestra with Adelaide Festival Centre, 2022; and How one should turn to stone. —..., West Space Window, Melbourne, 2021. In 2018 Farquhar was a recipient of a Carclew Fellowship which resulted in residencies in Scotland and New York. In April 2022 she was an artist-in-residence at Watch This Space, Alice Springs.

About the Studio Program

ACE is home to five fully-supported, rent-free CBD-based studios for South Australian artists. 

The ACE Studio Program provides professional development opportunities, including studio visits with Australian and international curators; participation in public programs; mentorship by ACE staff; and prominent profiling and promotional opportunities.  

It is the only program of its kind in the state and is an invaluable pathway for artists to gain national recognition. Working as part of a cohort of fellow  artists, the Studio Program gives residents the space to experiment with their practice and grow their professional careers.

2022 Studio Program Donors Circle

Anonymous x2, Anton Andreacchio, Susan Armitage, Jane Ayers, Sally Ball, Candy Bennett, Kate Bohunnis & Patrice Sharkey, James Darling AM, Julia Dowling, Lesley Forwood, Rick & Jan Frolich, Stephanie Grose, Mo & Simon Hardy, Amanda Harkness & Karen Barrett, Andrew Henderson, Kate Irving, Hon Diana Laidlaw AM, James Lake, Brigitte Lane, Stephen Lane, Edwina Lehmann, Ryan McCourt, David McKee AO & Pam McKee, Jane Michell, Ministry of Clouds, Chris Penny, John Phillips, Michael Pocock, Ruth Rentschler, Aidan Rigoni, Louise Rigoni, Venetia Rigoni, Jill Russell, Paul Sutton & Tanya Soetratma, Thelma Taliangis, Tracey Whiting AM

ACE tampinthi, ngadlu Kaurna yartangka panpapanpalyarninthi (inparrinthi). Kaurna miyurna yaitya mathanya Wama Tarntanyaku. Parnaku yailtya, parnaku tapa purruna, parnaku yarta ngadlu tampnthi. Yalaka Kaurna miyurna itu yailtya, tapa purruna, yarta kuma puru martinthi, puru warri-apinthi, puru tangka martulayinthi.

ACE respectfully acknowledges the traditional Country of the Kaurna people of the Adelaide Plains and pays respect to Elders past and present. We recognise and respect their cultural heritage, beliefs and relationship with the land. We acknowledge that they are of continuing importance to the Kaurna people living today.